Facebook Pixel Code Image

This website is now archived.

Skip to main content

All Website dropdown

News Stories

NI Social Work Awards 2021: Recognising the value of Social Work

Logo for the NI Social Work Awards 2021

Nominations for the 2021 Social Work Awards are now open. The Awards recognise the value of social workers to the lives of individuals and families across society.

During the past year, social workers have continued to provide vital services to keep vulnerable people and families safe and supported during Covid-19.

Nominations can be made online via the Northern Ireland Social Care Council website; the deadline for applications is Tuesday 11 May 2021.

Recognising the launch of the Social Work Awards nominations process, Minister for Health, Robin Swann said: “Social Work has continued to make a difference to the lives of children, adults, families and carers during Covid-19.  Despite Covid restrictions, social workers continued to provide frontline services to the most vulnerable people in our society. They developed new ways of working to support social and emotional wellbeing, the impact of poverty and safeguarding children and adults at risk. The Awards ceremony in September 2021 is an opportunity to recognise the contribution of this profession. If you wish to recognise social work, nominations are now open.”

Led by the Health and Social Care Board, the Social Work Awards are organised by the five Health and Social Care Trusts in conjunction with the Northern Ireland Social Care Council and the British Association of Social Workers. This year, the Social Work Awards will be hosted by the Southern Health and Social Care Trust and the awards ceremony will be held on Thursday 9 September 2021. The ceremony will be an in-person, virtual or blended event depending on Covid-19 regulations at the time.

Nominations for the Awards can be made for individual social workers and social work teams working in all types of services across the statutory, voluntary, education and criminal justice sectors, as well as social workers working in training, and Independent social workers. When making nominations, service users, carers or employers should demonstrate the positive contribution made by the nominees and show how their work involves and benefits people who use social work services.

The eight awards categories are: